Your Rights When a Bank Charges Hidden Fees or Deducts Money Without Consent: Types of Hidden Charges and How to Spot Them
A small deduction of ₹23 here, ₹29.50 there, or an unfamiliar ₹590 line in your statement rarely feels worth a phone call. Yet across a year, unnoticed bank charges can add up to several thousand rupees, and a deduction you never agreed to can point to something more serious than a fee, such as an add-on product you never asked for. Indian banking rules give you clearer protection here than most account holders realise, and those protections are getting stronger from January 2027.
This guide explains your rights when a bank charges a fee you did not know about or takes money without your consent, lists the most common hidden charges across savings accounts, credit cards and loans, and shows you exactly how to find out what your bank can and cannot charge.

Quick Answer
A bank can only charge fees that are disclosed in its published schedule of charges or in the terms you accepted, and it cannot debit your account without your authorisation, except in limited situations such as a standing instruction, an e-mandate you set up, or recovery of a genuine due. For loans, RBI rules bar lenders from charging any fee that is not disclosed in the Key Facts Statement (KFS), and from January 1, 2026 lenders cannot levy prepayment charges on eligible floating-rate loans. From January 1, 2027, RBI’s new Responsible Business Conduct amendments ban compulsory bundling of third-party products, require explicit opt-in consent with a default of “No,” and require banks to refund the entire amount if mis-selling is established. If you find a charge you did not agree to, check your bank’s schedule of charges, raise a written complaint with the bank, and escalate to the RBI Ombudsman at cms.rbi.org.in if the bank does not resolve it.
About This Guide
This guide was compiled by the FinanceChecks.com editorial team using RBI’s Responsible Business Conduct Second Amendment Directions issued on June 15, 2026, RBI’s Pre-payment Charges on Loans Directions, 2025, the RBI Integrated Ombudsman Scheme, 2026, and published fee schedules and explainers from banks and financial publications. Fee amounts differ from bank to bank and change often, so the figures in this article are indicative ranges rather than guaranteed rates, and we recommend confirming your own bank’s current schedule of charges. We will update this guide when RBI’s January 2027 provisions take effect.
Your Core Rights as a Bank Customer
Several principles sit underneath every hidden charge dispute, and knowing them makes complaints far easier to win.
- You have a right to know a charge before you pay it. Banks are required to make their schedule of charges available at branches and on their websites, and to disclose applicable fees when you open an account or take a product. Charges also attract 18% GST on top, so a listed ₹500 fee actually costs ₹590, and the schedule should show the base charge separately from GST.
- You have a right to advance notice when charges change. Banks are expected to inform customers of revisions to charges in advance rather than applying them silently, so a new fee that appears on your statement with no prior communication is worth questioning.
- You have a right against undisclosed loan fees. Under RBI’s KFS requirements, a regulated lender cannot charge fees that were not disclosed in the Key Facts Statement, and a fee that was earlier waived cannot be quietly reinstated at the time of prepayment. RBI’s 2025 prepayment directions also bar retrospective or undisclosed levies.
- You have a right to consent before a product is sold to you. RBI’s Responsible Business Conduct Second Amendment Directions, released on June 15, 2026 and effective from January 1, 2027, define mis-selling to include selling without explicit consent, selling with incomplete or misleading information, and compulsory bundling. Banks must inform you clearly of fees, charges, interest rates, risks, lock-in conditions and exit penalties before taking consent, and where mis-selling is established, the bank must refund the entire amount you paid.
When Can a Bank Legally Debit Your Account?
A bank does not have a general right to take money from your account whenever it likes. Legitimate debits fall into a few categories: transactions you initiate, standing instructions and auto-debit mandates you have set up, charges and interest that are disclosed and applicable to your account or loan, and recovery of an outstanding due where the bank exercises a right of set-off under the terms of your agreement.
For recurring payments made through cards or UPI mandates, RBI’s e-mandate framework requires a pre-debit notification before each charge and additional authentication for higher-value debits, and you can withdraw a mandate at any time. Note that the authentication threshold and higher limits for certain categories such as insurance premiums, mutual funds and credit card bill payments are set by RBI and may be revised, so check the current limit on your app or with your bank.
If a deduction is not a transaction you made, not a mandate you set up, and not a disclosed fee, it is a candidate for a complaint, and if it appears to be fraudulent rather than a fee, follow the fraud reporting rules described in our guide on UPI and online banking fraud rights.
Common Hidden Charges in Savings Accounts
| Charge | What It Is | Typical Range (varies by bank) | How to Spot It |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum balance non-maintenance penalty | Penalty when your average balance falls below the required level | Roughly ₹150 to ₹600 or more, plus GST, depending on bank and account type | Look for “MAB,” “AQB” or “non-maintenance” in the statement narration |
| ATM charges beyond free limit | Fee per transaction after free monthly transactions are used | ₹23 plus GST per withdrawal beyond free limits (interchange fee raised from ₹21 to ₹23 from May 2025) | Narration like “ATM/ATW charges” or “ATM Txn fee” |
| Debit card annual maintenance fee (AMC) | Yearly fee for holding a debit card | Commonly ₹150 to ₹500 plus GST | Once-a-year debit tagged “DC AMC” or “card fee” |
| SMS alert charges | Fee for transaction SMS alerts | From a few rupees a month to around ₹25 a quarter at some banks | Small recurring debit with “SMS” or “alert” in the narration |
| Cheque book charges | Fee for cheque leaves beyond the free quota | Free quota then per-leaf or per-book fees, for example ₹100 for a 20-leaf book at some banks | “Chq book issue” narration |
| Cheque return and stop payment fees | Fee when a cheque bounces or you stop payment | Commonly ₹50 to ₹500 depending on the case | “Chq return” or “stop payment” narration |
| Duplicate statement, passbook or certificate fees | Fee for extra paper or special requests | Varies by bank | Debit soon after you made a request |
| Branch cash transaction and NEFT/RTGS fees | Fees for cash deposits/withdrawals beyond free limits or for branch-initiated transfers | Varies by bank | Narration such as “cash handling” |
| Non-home branch or dormant account charges | Fees for using another branch or holding an inactive account | Varies by bank | Check account type and activity |
Bank of Maharashtra’s published service charges, for example, show domestic SMS alerts priced per SMS and cheque books priced per leaf, which illustrates why the same service can cost very different amounts across banks.
You May Also Like To Read About:
- Your Rights If You Are a Victim of UPI or Online Banking Fraud: RBI Zero Liability Rules and Reporting Timelines Explained
- Call Forwarding Scam: How It Works, How to Check Your Phone, and How to Stay Safe
- Cheque Bounce Rules in India: Section 138 and What It Means for You
- What Happens to Loan EMIs and Autopay Mandates If You Die Before Anyone Tells the Bank
- You Agreed to Be a Loan Guarantor for a Friend or Family Member. Here’s What Happens If They Default or Die
Common Hidden Charges on Credit Cards
Credit cards carry a wider set of charges than most people track. Beyond the annual or joining fee, watch for late payment fees, interest on revolved balances, cash advance fees plus immediate interest with no interest-free period, foreign currency markup on overseas and international-merchant transactions, over-limit fees, EMI conversion processing fees, fuel surcharges, rent or wallet-load surcharges, and GST on every fee. Card issuers publish these in the Most Important Terms and Conditions (MITC) document, which is the credit card equivalent of a schedule of charges and is where you should check any fee you do not recognise.
Common Hidden Charges on Loans
Loans are where hidden fees cost the most in rupee terms, which is why RBI’s disclosure rules are strictest here.
| Charge | What It Is | What the Rules Say |
|---|---|---|
| Processing fee | One-time fee for loan sanction | Must be disclosed upfront in the KFS; a reasonable fee retained only if disclosed |
| Documentation, valuation and legal fees | Fees for paperwork and property checks | Should appear in the KFS and sanction letter |
| Bundled insurance premium | Credit life, health or other insurance added to the loan | Compulsory bundling is banned from January 1, 2027, and consent must be explicit |
| Late payment or penal charges | Charges for missing EMIs or breaching terms | RBI’s penal charges framework requires penal charges to be disclosed, not compounded as extra interest and applied only for non-compliance with material terms |
| Prepayment or foreclosure charges | Fee for closing a loan early | Not allowed on eligible floating-rate loans to individuals and MSEs sanctioned or renewed on or after January 1, 2026; fixed-rate loans may carry disclosed charges |
| Part-payment, conversion or switching fees | Fee for changing rate type or paying part of the loan | Must be disclosed in the loan agreement and KFS |
| Statement, NOC and duplicate document fees | Fee for paperwork after closure | Check the schedule of charges before paying |
The Annual Percentage Rate (APR) shown in the KFS is the single most useful number for spotting hidden loan costs, because it is designed to include fees and not just the headline interest rate. If two loans advertise the same interest rate but different APRs, the difference is the fees.
How To Find Out What You Are Actually Being Charged
The fastest way is to compare your statement against your bank’s published documents. Download your bank’s Schedule of Charges from its website, which is usually found under the personal banking or savings account section, and match each unfamiliar debit against it. For credit cards, read the MITC document sent with your card kit or available in your app. For loans, read the KFS and sanction letter and check whether every fee you have paid appears there, since a fee absent from the KFS is a strong ground for dispute.
Next, read your statement line by line, not just the closing balance. Charges usually carry a short narration code, and searching that code alongside your bank’s name usually identifies it. Turn on transaction alerts and review the “charges” or “service charges” section in net banking if your bank offers one, and check the fee section of any new account or card before you accept it, since RBI’s 2027 rules require fees to be clearly disclosed before consent is taken.
What To Do If You Find a Charge You Did Not Agree To
Start by asking the bank for the exact reason and the clause or schedule item that permits the charge, and ask for it in writing. If the explanation does not hold up, lodge a written complaint through the bank’s official grievance channel and keep the complaint number. If the bank does not respond within the prescribed period, or rejects your complaint unfairly, you can escalate to the RBI Ombudsman under the Integrated Ombudsman Scheme, 2026 at cms.rbi.org.in, which is free to use and can award compensation up to ₹30 lakh for consequential loss and up to ₹3 lakh for time, expenses and harassment. You can also approach the Consumer Commission for deficiency in service.
If the deduction relates to an insurance or investment product you never asked for, tell the bank you are disputing it as mis-selling and request a full refund. Under the rules effective from January 1, 2027, established mis-selling requires a full refund of the amount paid.
Common Mistakes People Make
The most common mistake is never reading the statement narration, which means recurring small charges continue for years. Another is agreeing to a bundled product at the counter or on an app screen without realising that consent was implied by a pre-ticked box, something RBI’s new directions specifically target by requiring the default consent option to be “No.” Customers also assume that a charge which looks small is not worth disputing, when even ₹25 a month is ₹300 a year plus GST, and waiver requests are often granted on the first ask. People with loans often overlook the KFS entirely and only look at the EMI, missing processing, insurance and conversion fees that change the true cost. And many customers who do complain go straight to social media or the branch manager rather than filing a written complaint with a complaint number, which weakens their case if it later reaches the Ombudsman.
My Take
Hidden charges are rarely illegal, which is exactly why they persist. They live in the gap between what a bank is technically allowed to charge and what a customer actually notices. The most valuable change on the way is not any single fee cap but the consent and disclosure standard: default “No” toggles, fees shown before agreement, and a full refund where mis-selling is proven shift the burden from the customer having to catch every line to the bank having to prove that you knowingly agreed.
Until January 2027, the practical defence is a habit rather than a rule. Once a quarter, open your statement, scan for unfamiliar narrations, and compare them with your bank’s schedule of charges. It takes ten minutes, and it is the cheapest financial check available to an ordinary account holder.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Can a bank deduct money from my account without my permission? Not generally. A bank can debit your account for transactions you initiate, standing instructions and mandates you set up, disclosed charges, and recovery of genuine dues under your agreement. An unexplained deduction outside these is worth disputing.
2. Are banks allowed to charge fees that are not disclosed? For loans, RBI rules prohibit charging fees that are not disclosed in the Key Facts Statement. For accounts and cards, charges should be in the published schedule of charges or terms and conditions you accepted.
3. Why was a small amount deducted from my account with a strange narration? It is often an SMS alert fee, debit card annual fee, ATM charge beyond your free limit, or a service fee. Match the narration against your bank’s schedule of charges to identify it.
4. Does GST apply to bank charges? Yes. Bank service charges attract 18% GST, so a fee of ₹500 effectively costs ₹590.
5. How much can a bank charge for ATM withdrawals beyond the free limit? From May 2025 the interchange fee rose from ₹21 to ₹23 per transaction, and banks generally charge ₹23 plus GST on withdrawals beyond the free monthly limit.
6. Can a bank charge me a prepayment penalty on a home loan? Not on eligible floating-rate loans to individuals and MSEs sanctioned or renewed on or after January 1, 2026. Fixed-rate loans may carry prepayment charges if they were clearly disclosed.
7. Can a bank force me to buy insurance with my loan or account? Compulsory bundling of third-party products is banned under RBI’s directions effective January 1, 2027, and banks must obtain explicit consent, with the default set to “No.”
8. What refund am I entitled to if a product was mis-sold to me? Where mis-selling is established, the bank must refund the entire amount paid for the product or service.
9. Where do I complain if my bank does not fix an unfair charge? Complain in writing to the bank first, then escalate to the RBI Ombudsman at cms.rbi.org.in, and you can also approach the Consumer Commission for deficiency in service.
10. How can I avoid hidden bank charges? Read your bank’s schedule of charges, maintain any required minimum balance or choose a zero-balance account, stay within free ATM limits, review your statement regularly, and check the KFS or MITC before accepting a loan or card.
Disclaimer
This article is for general informational purposes only and does not constitute legal or financial advice. Charges, free limits, timelines and RBI provisions vary by bank, account type and product, and the January 2027 provisions apply only from their effective date. Fee ranges quoted are indicative and drawn from published schedules and explainers. Readers should verify current charges with their bank’s official schedule of charges and refer to RBI’s website for the latest directions. FinanceChecks.com is not affiliated with RBI or any bank.
Shuchi founded Finance Checks after spending 16+ years working in corporate, managing operations and distribution. She managed her own finances, learned and read regularly and helped people make sense of their savings, loans, insurance, and investments.
She started this site to offer the kind of clear, honest financial guidance she wished was more available when she was learning to manage her own money. Every article is researched personally, checked against official sources such as the Reserve Bank of India, SEBI, or the Income Tax Department, and revisited whenever regulations or figures change. She is upfront about how the site earns money through ads and select affiliate partnerships, and she does not let either influence what she actually recommends to readers.